you’re the piece of gold that flashes on my soul

silversun pickups “lazy eye” video makes me want to dance (sway) languidly. i love music that isn’t typically dance but has that languid rhythm that is actually really sexy.

(it reminds me of the downunder in port macqaurie for various reasons. ahem.)

such songs include :

‘heart’s a mess’ by gotye. oh this song is so close to my heart. so amazing live. so fucking beautiful. its beauty jusk flows throughout the music.

‘i’ve been thinking’ by cat power and the handsome boy modelling school. jazzy, sexy… i don’t know what else to say. except that cat power is sex personified and i want to be her.

‘pulse’ by the mess hall. thisone especially. and the music video is to die for. eerie and beautiful.

‘i’m alive’ by love and rockets. sexiness personified. a bit of that 80’s indie sound.

‘the pyramid song’ by radiohead. oh fuck this song is stunning, there is no other way to describe it. it elicits this intense emotional and physical response. very few aural pieces are capable of that. thom yorke is something special.the same for ‘talk show host’ (the one from Romeo+Juliet). that song sends chills through me. it eradicates the need for words, for thoughts. you just feel the song. the subtle passion. the longing that manifests.

I jumped in the river and what did I see?
Black-eyed angels swam with me
A moon full of stars and astral cars
All the things I used to see
All my lovers were there with me
All my past and futures
And we all went to heaven in a little row boat
There was nothing to fear and nothing to doubt

I jumped into the river
Black-eyed angels swam with me
A moon full of stars and astral cars
And all the things I used to see
All my lovers were there with me
All my past and futures
And we all went to heaven in a little row boat
There was nothing to fear and nothing to doubt

There was nothing to fear and nothing to doubt
There was nothing to fear and nothing to doubt

‘amylase’ by cajun party. i love this little band and their indiepop?? music. it’s lovely and fun and pretty and a bit ugly in its way, in other songs.

‘maps’ by the yeah yeahs. i could listen to this song over and over and over.

‘love will tear us apart’ by joy division

anything by the smiths.

oddly enough, cinema strange, specifically ‘the red and silver fantastique’. kind of gothic, ambient, but strangely sexy. also partial to ‘lindsay’s trachea’

and of course of course, who could resist the non-english accents of the teenagers’ “homecoming”. ooh they are “totally awesome. oh my GOD, i think i’m in love.” such a brazen parody of typically sleazy englishmen (is that a real stereotype? sleazy french men yes. i think those gorgeous, fabulous french men are getting revenge for that particular stereotype). or at least ditzy american girls. and also “scarlett johansson”.

‘sexy boy’ by air

most things by air really. especially ‘run’. which i will always associate with veronica mars. also ‘playground love’, now that is a beautifully sexy ryhthm.

I’m a high school lover, and you’re my favorite flavor
Love is all, all my soul
You’re my playground love

Yet my hands are shaking
I feel my body reeling
Time’s no matter, I’m on fire
On the playground love

You’re the piece of gold
That flashes on my soul
Extra time, on the ground
You’re my playground love

Anytime, anywhere,
You’re my playground love.

and the virgin suicides. amazing. i must read the book. the movie is amazing. i know everyone says it but really, it is just a lovely little movie.

so i’ve decided i have a bizarre idea of sexy. but then i’m also not the kind of girl who goes for tall, “hot”, blond, (vapid), typically attractive men. so this is not unexpected.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Ramblings

Leave a Reply

